Tags

,

Simply put, I think I am hilarious. I am so incredibly easily amused that I laugh, literally, every day. I know that some people equate the easily amused with the simple-minded, or more harshly put, stupidity. I am here to argue this point. Not to toot my own horn, but I am an intelligent person. I managed an entire company by the age of 25, I have been promoted or received a raise in almost every professional position I have held. Honestly, I think that I can attribute this partially to my sense of humor. A well-developed sense of humor can be a welcome relief in a time of crazy stress. In business, it allowed me to have a personal approach to business which was important in an industry where you deal with people all day long.

More importantly though, I know that my sense of humor is one of the reasons that my life is full of the people around me. I love to laugh. I love to make people laugh, including myself. Most of the time I find some tiny detail of a situation that for some reason puts me into hysterics. While I am spewing tears in between uncontrollable laughter, I catch a glimpse of my husband looking at me like I need to be committed. The most recent thing that just kept making me laugh was this joke:

“What do you call a cow with no legs?”
(keep in mind that I am laughing right now simply writing it!)

“Ground Beef!”

Oh man, I just think it’s too funny! A running joke between my husband and I is to simply point at our wedding ring and say “ha ha sucker! You’re stuck with me!” This little routine is usually followed my an I Love You and a peck on the lips.

I think that laughter can be a welcome relief in any stressful day. Often times I am home with the baby while Jesse is working hard either at school or work. If I run into a situation that is intense and stressful, being able to laugh at myself can be the perfect way to ease some tension. Once a good laugh has broken the ice of a situation, I am able to look at the situation with a more positive attitude. It just helps!

Do you find that laughter can be a big stress relief?

