Tags

,

I have had my sweet little puppy Koda Bear for a little over a year now. My husband and I fell in love with this Mini-Aussie when I was about 7 months pregnant. I did the research and it turns out it is better to introduce a new baby to an already pet rather than the other way around. Long story short we took home this fluffy little brown puppy and he has been taking up space on our bed ever since.

Now, I would take him for walks and play with his toys throughout the day, but I hadn’t ever even heard of a dog park until my sister-in-law told me about this magical place. She took me the first time along with her dog. Now her dog, Spry, is a little older, so he simply enjoys the extra space and opportunity to spread his scent over a large space. Koda, however, is a ball of ADD disguised as a cute brown puppy with a severe underbite. His underbite has also sparked the nickname Baron Von Underbite, and I swear when I see him prancing around, yes he prances, all I hear is dur-da-dur. Koda is by far the most clumbsy, most uncoordinated dog on the face of this earth, or any other planet for that matter.

Now that you know a little bit about my canine companion, let’s get back to the dog park. I absolutely love the dog park in our city. It has separate spaces for large dogs and small dogs. Over on the small dog side, our domain, there are trees strategically planted along the perimeter with metal picnic tables under their shade. One of the many things I love about the dog park is that Koda can take all of his energy and expel it on to some unsuspecting dog at the park. If I bring my one year old Maddison, I spend my time holding her hand while she walks around, and I try my best to steer her away from piles of puppy poo. But if I am lucky enough to go sans child, I find so much peace at the dog park. I take my notebook with me at all times, but I also bring whatever book or books I am reading at that time. I sit in the shade, I get to read or write and Koda gets to play. The best part is that the evening after a dog park day, Koda is so tired he actually relaxes. Puppy peace is a rare and treasured thing when you have an overactive dog.

