Tags

, , , , ,

So I officially got to meet my little man on April 11, 2013 at 1:50pm after only 6.5 hours of labor! After all of the complaining I did those last few weeks, I lucked out with a pretty easy delivery.DSC03955

We were actually scheduled to induce labor on Saturday April 13th, but plans change. I had finally given up on going into labor, I was prepared for the induction. I woke up Thursday morning to my water breaking. Since it wasn’t the dramatic scene out of a movie, it took me a few minutes to be sure it had actually broken. Thank god it had! I gave my husband a loving smacking the back and said “get up! We’re having a baby!”DSC03886

Of course this was the one time nobody wanted to answer the phone, luckily my sister-in-law answered and was happy to babysit Maddison while we went to the hospital. We were admitted to the same room where Maddison was born, we went through all the check in mumbo jumbo and just waited to have a baby. I got my epidural right when the contractions were starting to get pretty painful and for the most part it was smooth sailing after that. Then a few hours later my epidural started to wear off. They checked me and I went from 8 to 10 within about 3 contractions. What a great time for my pain medicine to wear off! They called for an anesthesiologist to come top me off with the magical medicine. It took about 10 minutes for that to kick in and then I was ready to go! After only 2 or 3 rounds of pushing, our beautiful little boy was here!DSC03878

Not to upset other women, but on top of having a pretty easy delivery, I’ve been lucky enough to have a great recovery as well. We went home from the hospital 2 days later (the day we were going to induce) and I was up cleaning the house a few days after that. Between my OCD and already having a toddler to chase around there just hasn’t been much time for relaxing.

So much has changed but here are a few realizations I have had since having Grayson:

1. I was sad about Maddison no longer being an only child, but I find joy in watching her embrace the big sister role.
2. I’m surprised at how much energy I have, and how after a night of feeding and Grayson crying, my body always finds a way to push through and get shit done!
3. I am having an easier time than I thought I would managing the two different schedules. Luckily my husband is amazing and has been a fantastic help and support.
4. I’ve still been able to find a little time for myself, which I think is SO important.
5. I am more in love with my husband than ever before. Yes, having two kids is challenging and there have been a few times of frustration, but through all of it our kids have brought us even closer together.DSC04061

I know that as they get older things will change and more challenges will arise, but I’m up for it. Being a mother is the best challenge I’ve ever been faced with and it’s amazing. It’s new every day, it keeps me on my toes and I’m happier than I’ve ever been!DSC04046

What do you find is the most challenging or rewarding part of
being a parent?DSC04070DSC04078

